Mystery Sausage 1: Big Mama Pickled Sausage

December 28, 2010 § 2 Comments

My beautiful girlfriend retched a little in her mouth when she saw me buying this on a recent road trip to North Carolina. I say that if you can’t buy questionable sausages at gas stations while on road trips, what does the American flag really stand for?

I opted not to try it in front of her, so when I got home I slit it open and took a bite. Very vinegary, tangy and definitely meaty. I couldn’t make out the chicken or the pork specifically, but it all came together as one unified whole. A frankensausage, to be sure, but a tasty one. Tasty as it was, though, the texture didn’t sit right with me. It was almost grainy. I’m pretty sure I didn’t like that.

I also didn’t like the red color, which didn’t seem to make its way through to the core of the sausage. Does sausage have a core? well, the center, anyway.

Outards:

Innards:

 

 

Tagged: , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to Mystery Sausage 1: Big Mama Pickled Sausage

What’s this?

You are currently reading Mystery Sausage 1: Big Mama Pickled Sausage at I Eat What I Want.

meta

