Chicken Skewers from Punk’s Backyard Grill

February 1, 2011 § 2 Comments

Beautiful Girlfriend and I went to Punk’s Backyard Grill in Annapolis a while back on the way home from the Maryland Renaissance Festival, where I got the shepherd’s pie. Yes, it was a while ago. I stand guilty as charged of not posting about this in a more timely manner.

Punk’s was okay. It was laid out in a neat way, almost cafeteria style. The customer goes to the register and places an order, gets a number to place on the table and the food is delivered. It’s a little fast food and a little dine-in. I kind of like that setup. The menu was interesting enough, having things like meat skewers served with salads. It wasn’t fast food at all in this respect.

I got the chicken skewers and a salad. I was hoping for some nice grilled, tasty chicken. What I got was chicken slathered with sweet barbecue sauce. It seemed like a cheap trick. No real seasoning to make it taste good and no real embarrassment about the bland sauce. Sure I ate it but I will likely not return. I would rather have a chicken sandwich from a fast food place than have Punk’s chicken again. Maybe the steak skewers are done better. I don’t know.

Tagged: , ,

§ 2 Responses to Chicken Skewers from Punk’s Backyard Grill

  • Christine says:

    I feel the same. The food was okay but nothing special. I like that they focus on quality ingredients, but there were very few options for gluten free folks. Since I couldn’t eat the flat bread that came with my salad I left still feeling a bit hungry.

    • Carl Weaver says:

      Let me fill you in – the flat bread was pretty good. The other stuff, rather mediocre, if different from the normal dining options available in the semi-fast food dining realm.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Chicken Skewers from Punk’s Backyard Grill at I Eat What I Want.

meta

