Pigs in a Blanket

February 22, 2011 § 1 Comment

Pigs in a blanket are a staple of American hors d’oeuvres (or appetizers, which is easier to spell correctly). When I was a kid my mother made these for parties she and my father would host and it was always a joy to savor one fresh from the oven. Most of them were for company but I was allowed one or two, as I recall.

My friend Jaimie hosted a party recently for which she made these little delightful bites and I was luck to snatch the last one from the tray as she came around. It was still warm and, true to the nature of a good hot dog, it snapped a little when I bit into it. That’s the sign of quality, a hallmark of natural sausage casing.

Jaimie, you are awesome. Thanks for helping me relive this bit of childhood memory. And thanks for not going the cheap route and using Vienna sausages.

Pigs in a Blanket

Tagged:

§ One Response to Pigs in a Blanket

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pigs in a Blanket at I Eat What I Want.

meta

