Homemade Chicken Sandwich

June 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

 

I recently made a good old-fashioned chicken sandwich. Last year Beautiful Girlfriend turned me on to buying those whole cooked chickens at the market. they are easy – they come to you warmed up and keep well. No need to turn on the oven to bake a chicken in the heat of the summer. I don’t know where you are, but here in the DC area it is frickin’ hot and if it weren’t for the risk of asphyxiation I would even blow out my pilot lights just to stay a little cooler.

The leftover chicken looked wimpy after I had picked at it for a few days, so I took the scraps and threw them on some mayonnaise-soaked bread. It was spectacular. Simple, easy, and delicious, just like Mom used to make. The only thing that could have made it better would have been a little dab of gravy.

For those of you looking for one of those chickens, I have found that the cheapest ones are from Shoppers, for $5.99. Giant and Safeway are both $6.99-7.99 and Whole Foods and Harris Teeter are always way too expensive, so I didn’t even bother checking there.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Homemade Chicken Sandwich at I Eat What I Want.

meta

