Pupusas from Cerrito’s Pupuseria

June 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

 

I work near Cerrito’s Pupuseria in Chantilly, VA. Pupusas are usually made with corn flour and are round discs with filling inside.  Beautiful Girlfriend had recommended I try this traditional Salvadoran food. “They come with cole slaw or sauerkraut or something,” she said, and at that moment I knew I would like them. Anything served with pickled cabbage is good, in my experience.

At Cerrito’s pupusas come in three different styles: pork, cheese or “revuelta,” which was a mixture of meat and cheese. My Spanish is not as good as it used to be, so I sat, waiting for my order and tried to remember what revuelta meant. The one thing that kept coming to mind was “revolting.” Sure enough, when I tore into the revuelta pupusa I had ordered, it had the appearance of something that had already been eaten and looked rather revolting. Of course I ate it anyway, but wasn’t thrilled with it. The pork one was delicious, though, and the cheese one was rather bland, stuffed with a mild cheese, similar to cottage cheese, but less flavorful.

I looked up “revuelta” later and found that it means revolt, not revolting. Very different meaning. I am not sure what the genesis of that name is for the pupusa, though. Any thoughts?

20110610-034912.jpg

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Pupusas from Cerrito’s Pupuseria at I Eat What I Want.

meta

