Rib Night: Wild Boar and Buffalo

October 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

Beautiful Girlfriend and I took a trip to the southwest, where we visited Bryce Canyon and Zion National Park. We stayed at the Arrowhead Country Inn in Mt. Carmel, UT, whose owners recommended we visit the Buffalo Bistro in nearby Glendale, UT. When I saw the sign, I knew I was at the right place. I didn’t get a photo of the front of the restaurant, but they even have a chuck wagon. Meat was sure to be on the menu!

20111008-122714.jpg

BG and I decided to try the rib plate for two, and dined on wild boar and buffalo ribs. The boar ones are longer for some reason. You can see a short little buffalo rib sticking out on the left side, smothered by wild boar. It was all delicious, but honestly, it tasted like pork and beef to me. Maybe my palate is not discriminating enough to detect the subtle sweetness of the boar or appreciate the extra-lean qualities of buffalo. All the same, like I said, it was delicious, and easily some of the best ribs I have had. That’s BG’s hand reaching for some more wild boar because we all know that pigs and their relatives are some of the most delicious animals around.

20111008-122705.jpg

The owner cooks all the meat on an outdoor grill, which can get mighty cold during the winter, so he closes the restaurant between November and March each year. But if you happened to go by, stop in and tell him Carl the Meat Man sent you. He won’t know who you are talking about, but he will certainly get a chuckle and delight you with stimulating conversation.

20111008-131330.jpg

Tagged: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Rib Night: Wild Boar and Buffalo at I Eat What I Want.

meta

