Roast Beef and Mashed Potatoes

October 25, 2011 § Leave a comment

This is what I had for dinner at the Thunderbird Restaurant, the night we arrived in Mt. Carmel, UT. We had flown from Washington, DC to San Francisco, then to Las Vegas, rented a car and drove 3.5 hours to Mt. Carmel, which included driving on the edge of a cliff, negotiating switchbacks through Zion National Park, and arriving around sundown to the B&B we stayed at. I was beat and needed a solid meal and that’s what this was. Nothing fancy here, just meat and potatoes and a side of colorful veggies. It fit the bill and everything was good. The portion size was huge but I was hungry and had no place to keep leftovers, so I ate most of it.

The best part was the gravy. This was a thick gravy. I could imagine ordering a glass of it and having little chunks clog the straw, like strawberry bits in a milkshake. It’s meat in liquid form.

I don’t recall what Beautiful Girlfriend had for dinner. I was so tired I mostly kept my mind on the tasks at hand – eating my dinner and hitting the rack. I slept like a baby. Like a giant man-baby with a stomach full of meat and gravy, with visions of meatiness dancing in my head.

20111013-171036.jpg

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Roast Beef and Mashed Potatoes at I Eat What I Want.

meta

