Fresh Jerky!

October 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

While driving to Chloride, Ariz., which really does look like a ghost town, Beautiful Girlfriend and I saw a few billboards for the best jerky in the area. I really wanted to go there but it was another 15 miles and BG wasn’t too excited about it. The prospect of jerky, at least to her, was not so enticing. To me it was a sacred kind of meat, possibly the most flavorful. I pushed for it and we went there. In case you want some of this stuff but don’t want to travel through the deserts of Arizona, you can order it at FreshJerky.com.

When we pulled up to the small building and dirt parking lot, which didn’t seem that interesting, except for the jerky signs.

20111013-224525.jpg

Next I saw the Jerky van. I knew I was in a dried-and-cured heaven.

20111013-224536.jpg

I wanted to buy many different types of jerky but the price was too high. I settled for the venison and standard beef, which would be a good comparison, I figured.

The venison jerky was a bit smoky and gamey, as I had expected. The scent was a bit of a turn-off, but jerky is not known for its olfactory pleasantness. The venison jerky was tasty, with a bit of tang and left a smoky taste in my mouth. It even had a bit of bite from what I guess were hot peppers, although no hot peppers are on the ingredient list.

20111013-163722.jpg

The beef jerky was a solid jerky, about as good as you can get. It was smoky, with just a hint of sweetness, and a deep soy sauce flavor, like a good teriyaki. It’s hard to stop eating, and I keep belching up deliciousness.

20111013-163734.jpg

All in all, I am very happy with these jerkies. These are head and shoulders above the snack food brand jerkies. However, the more than $10 per bag is a bit excessive. Even for the champagne of beef jerkies, that’s a bit much, and I would say these are champagne quality meat products. I wish I could have afforded more of it.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fresh Jerky! at I Eat What I Want.

meta

